top of page

Why I Hate Clemson


Clemson football

Photo courtesy of Clemson University

 

Let's be real: college is probably the most formative influence on young adulthood. It changes who you are as a person, it challenges your beliefs, and it expands your knowledge of everything from academics to relationships. It pushes you in ways you can't imagine until you're actually there.

Growing up a typical Southern California girl, I've changed a lot since going away to Clemson for college. I never thought I'd trade in the ocean for a lake, or Converse for cowboy boots, but here I am. And, spoiler alert, I don't actually hate Clemson. It's quite the opposite, actually.

I hate that I'm in love with it, because it challenges every notion I've ever had of being a 'California girl'. I hate how easy it was to fall for the Upstate.

I hate that I've found a second place to call home, and I hate that I confuse myself and others when I say "I'm going home" both when I leave for school and return from school.

I hate that Clemson challenged my idea of what I wanted my life to be like. I hate that I can picture myself living in the South for a few more years than I originally intended.

I hate how much more I love football now, how I bleed orange and purple, how I shed a tear for letting go of Deshaun Watson when he was drafted. I hate that my new favorite season is "Football" instead of "Fall".

I hate that I learned the Alma Mater and every chant within the first two weeks of school, yet I couldn't tell you a single word of my high school's Alma Mater after four years.

I hate that I've come to love the color orange, and I hate that I buy orange dresses, rompers, and shirts now because "it would be perfect to wear on game day". I hate that I own two pairs of cowboy boots, a pair of duck boots, and camo (strictly for Mallard Ball #goADPi).

Clemson

Photo courtesy of Clemson University

 

I hate that I end every email or note with "Go Tigers!", because it's become second nature to me now. I hate that I've accidentally slipped the word "Y'all" into my vocabulary.

I hate that I know every ad-lib to "Dixieland Delight", and that I consider 'shagging' an acceptable dance at any event (even if I'm absolutely awful at it, God bless Cameron for trying to teach me).

I hate that I've become so close with so many amazing people at Clemson because I hate missing them so much whenever I come back to California (shoutout to you- Monumental group chat; I can't wait to see you). I hate that I have to send them birthday cards, instead of taking them out for dinner, when they celebrate in their home state.

I hate that I miss my school, the people there, and the memories I've made there on a daily basis during the summer and winter breaks.

I hate that it's hard to get there, because there's no direct flight to South Carolina from Southern California. I hate that I love the feeling when the plane's wheels touch down in Atlanta, Charlotte, or Greenville because it means that I'm one step closer to being back in my orange empire.

I hate that my heart beats faster when I get off the 'highway' as they call it there, and see those orange tiger paw prints line the streets (I still get made fun of for calling it a freeway).

Paw

Photo courtesy of Clemson University

 

I hate that people still ask me "Where's Clemson?" because they don't live and breathe for Tigertown like I do. I get annoyed when people make fun of it as 'just a football school', when we have so much more to offer than solely sports.

I hate that I'll soon join the Clemson Alumni group, because it means that I'll no longer be a student at the greatest university in the country. I hate the idea of graduating, because I don't want to leave.

I hate that I never understood the meaning behind "I want to stay in college forever" until I went to Clemson.

I hate that I'm realizing that I'm giving in to the persuasive South, and I hate that I'm loving every minute of it.

I hate that I count down the days until I move in to my apartment in Clemson. I hate that I can't contain my excitement.

Clemson Logo

Photo courtesy of Clemson University

 

Most of all, I hate that not everyone gets to experience the power of Clemson University. I hate that I can't make people understand what it is about the campus and the people that made me fall in love. I hate that I can't even explain why I love it so much. I hate that the only words I can use to try are "There's something in these hills". It's the power of the paw.

There really is something special about Clemson, something that makes me admit that I don't hate a single thing about it. I couldn't even if I tried.

Go Tigers.

bottom of page