top of page

The Best Wines for Broke Babes


 

If there are two things you should know about me, they're that I'm broke, and I love wine. These two facts don't mesh well together. I'm definitely not a wine aficionado or a sommelier by any means, although I did once spend three days watching wine documentaries on Netflix and critiquing my Barefoot out of a red Solo cup in my dorm room. That's not even an exaggeration- you can ask my old roommate (shoutout Liv). 

However, I do consider wine a major food group (it's basically a fruit, right?) and I've selected my favorites for you all to try. I've even included a price tier for you fancy followers who have money to blow.

 

Cheap doesn't mean bad:

1. Sutter Home ($6): A classic starter wine brand. It's not the best, but I'll definitely drink it. Happily. 

2. Barefoot ($7): I've yet to encounter a Barefoot I didn't like. It's low cost, yummy, and the double bottles are always on sale. With so many good selections, it's hard to pick a favorite flavor. Shown below are Red Moscato, Sweet Red Blend, Riesling, Pinot Grigio, Pink Moscato, and Moscato.

3. Cupcake ($8): A cute name, a classic bottle, a crisp taste. What more can you really ask for?

Cupcake Pinot Grigio
 

If you brew your own coffee instead of getting Starbucks 2x a week you can afford these:

1. Little Black Dress ($10): This wine has mastered its marketing. Similar to Chloe wines, but at a lower price. 

LBD Pinot Grigio

3. Apothic: ($10) Red wine drinkers rejoice! This wine is a representative of all good things a red wine should be. 

Apothic Red
 

If you're celebrating a special occasion or find some cash in your old jean pockets:

1. Stella Rosa ($10, but you need at least a bottle per person since the alcohol content is so low): You know that feeling when you meet someone new, and can't help but become so interested and infatuated with them from the start? That's how I felt when I first tried Stella Rosa. My world was changed- I had never liked red wine until then. And now, I can't get enough of it. This wine is sweet and fruity with a little bit of bubble. The Black edition tastes like blackberries and blueberries at their peak of ripeness. I'm in love. Since then, I have yet to meet a Stella Rosa wine I don't adore. Hands down, my favorite.

2. Chloe ($14): My mom actually recently yelled at me for buying this with her credit card. She claims it's too expensive for me, and she's right. Why else would I use her credit card...? This is a light, crisp Pinot Grigio that goes down easy. Plus the bottle is super cute.

Chloe Pinot Grigio

Ta-da! My official wine list. If a sommelier saw this, they'd probably shun me for not discussing the 'notes' or 'hidden aromas' or whatever. I pick my wines based on the cuteness of the label... doesn't everyone?

*note: you all know I'm not 21. all wine was consumed in legal parts of the world (Canada / Mexico)* 

bottom of page