top of page

Travel Tips for a Terrific Trip


flying

 

If you've ever traveled with me, you know I'm a complete freak when it comes to flying. I always have to be early, I check in the night before, I'm a super-organized stress head- especially if I'm running late. I nearly always think I'm going to miss my flight. I prepare for the worst-case scenario and hope for the best.

The past two weeks, I've been on a total of 8 flights, and I consider myself a fairly frequent flyer (though my airline mileage accounts seem to think otherwise- seriously, how many miles does it take to earn a free flight these days?!). I could probably recite the flight attendants' safety speech in my sleep at this point... but I digress. Here's my guide to making sure you have the easiest travel experience possible:

1. Pack headphones: I cannot stress this enough. Pack two pairs of headphones- one for your iPhone 7 with the dumb charging jack in place of an aux cord (Apple, this was your worst mistake yet), and one set with the normal aux cord jack for airline TV's and entertainment systems. Believe it or not, airlines don't carry the special iPhone 7 headphones yet, so you're SOL if you don't bring your own pair.

2. Lotion: I don't know what it is about flying, but it seriously dries my skin out. I always keep a FAA-regulated sized lotion in my carry-on while flying.

3. Facial spray: Like I mentioned above, something about flying dries my skin out. A quick spritz of this rose water spray helps my face stay hydrated and healthy the whole trip. Be sure to pack the sample size in your carry-on, or risk TSA throwing this precious spray away.

4. Gum: Ear popping? Boredom? Bad taste in your mouth? Nauseous? Gum is the solution. Pick up a pack of my favorite go-to gum before your next flight. My flavor of choice is Original, but they're all pretty good. I pop in a piece right before takeoff to offset the nerves and elevation ear-pop.

5. Sweatshirt: Somehow, I always freeze on my flights. I'll be napping, and wake up mid flight with goosebumps shivering. I've learned my lesson though- bring a jacket. If it's too hot, you can always use your sweatshirt as a pillow instead of for warmth.

6. A Good Book: Books paint a picture and set a storyline for the reader. A good book can make you feel like you're in the novel, instead of in the middle seat of the economy class. Check out a great list of books here.

7. Chapstick: I will not get on a flight without chapstick. Call me crazy, but if my lips are dry, I'm miserable. This chapstick is my favorite, and this one is a close second.

8. Spotify Premium: This isn't even an option. Download your music before you fly, and create a super fun playlist to pass the time. And whoever thinks iTunes music is better, you're wrong.

9. Portable charger: These days, some planes have charging stations under the seats. However, in case you have bad luck and wind up on a plane with no charging ports, pack a portable charger so you can be sure to extend your battery life.

10. Deodorant: I always feel gross after flying. Freshen up a bit by swiping on some deodorant before you get off the plane.

11. Shoes with socks: Germs are everywhere. Feet are gross. Please wear socks when going through security, if not for yourself, do it for your fellow hygienic passengers.

12. Cards: Nothing beats a classic 52 card deck. Endless games, endless distracting fun. Your friends will thank you for remembering this.

13. Extra contacts: If you wear contacts, pack an extra pair. You never know how dry your eyes will get on your flight or even at your destination. And obviously, bring backup glasses just in case.

So while I can't control the smoothness of the air currents (Great Lakes Airlines: I thought I was going to die on my most recent flight TBH.. not cool to set off alarms during intense turbulence and not explain it to your passengers), now you can enhance the comfort of your flight just a tad.

xx

Forever Flying

bottom of page