top of page

The Best Brunches in Southern CA

You know what's great about weekends? No, it's not the fact that you don't have to work or go to school (okay, maybe). It's that you get to enjoy one of my most sacred and beloved meals of all time: B-R-U-N-C-H!

Don't get me wrong, breakfast is delicious. Lunch is great. But brunch is the best of both worlds. Think about it- you get to sleep in late on a Saturday or Sunday and then spend a couple hours eating the best combination of foods there are to offer. Honestly, what could be better?

From avocado toast to zucchini bread, here's my top five go-to brunch bistros:

1. Cafe Hermosa- San Clemente, CA- If you thought I was kidding about the avocado toast, I wasn't. Though some claim that we millennials could afford to buy a house if we stopped splurging on avo toast, I might just live with my mom forever. This Cafe is brand new in town, but it's already creating a huge hype. With it's varieties of avocado toast, fresh juices, and a banana-topped Belgium waffle to die for, you can't go wrong here. If you're more into the lunch side of brunch, try one of the panini's.

Left photo curtesy of Michael J. Gibbs

 

2. The Deck- Laguna Beach, CA- I'm not kidding when I say that The Deck is one of my favorite places. When friends come to visit from out of state, I do my best to bring them here. With an incredible ocean view and a cool atmosphere, The Deck is perfect for friends and family. Plus, their blueberry pancakes are literally to die for. I crave them all the time. They have other yummy stuff too though, like this Ahi dish.

Photo curtesy of The Deck.

 

3. Trevor's at the Tracks- San Juan Capistrano, CA- I was only recently introduced to Trevor's, but I've been hooked ever since. It has the classic San Juan Capistrano train track vibe, with a cozy atmosphere and plenty of seating. The food is amazing, the service is terrific, and really, you can't go wrong by going here. There isn't an item on the menu that I don't recommend (except anything with eggs or mayo- but that's just my personal preference for all foods at all places).

 

4. SC Cafe- San Clemente, CA- If you've ever been hungover and craving a Mexican-inspired brunch, this is the place for you. The hash browns are flavorful, crunchy, and delicious. The plates are loaded with carbs, bacon, and cheese to cure even the worst of headaches. I even go here when I'm not hungover- or on a diet.

 

5. Antoine's- San Clemente, CA- The go-to spot for crepes and coffee. The crepes are so good, I've actually never ordered anything else from their menu. A good call if you're in the area, but be mindful that there's sometimes a wait.

 

6. Ellie's Table- San Clemente, CA- Ok, I get that most of these places I'm drooling over are in San Clemente, but you can't blame me once you try them. I always order a vanilla chai latte with at least one macaroon here. The scones and croissants are also yummy. A good place to go if you're not too hungry, but want to sit down and catch up with a friend.

 

7. Stacks- Dana Point, CA- Pancakes galore. And other yummy brunch foods too, but, I just really love pancakes. It's a small space, but worth the wait. Just trust me.

Stacks

Photo curtesy of Stacks Pancake House

 

8. Anastasia Cafe- Laguna Beach, CA- This cafe is somewhat of a hidden gem. It has a joint clothing store next door, which makes it seem odd for a brunch spot. But the Belgium waffle is insanely good, and their juices are too. It can get pricey, but it's money well spent.

Anastasia Cafe waffle
 

What are some of your favorite Southern California brunch spots? Let me know, I'm always up for another reason to brunch.

bottom of page